Twinkling Lights

This is a quick and easy card, but very effective. Please note the picture is slightly brighter than the original as I had to use the flash on my camera to take a halfway decent image.

Kit List:

  • Sheena Stamping Card
  • Twinkling lights embossing folder
  • Twinkling lights Die
  • Distress inks
  • Sentiment stamp
  • Black Card
  • Versamark/embossing powder
  • Ranger Glossy Accents
  • Dry wet-wipe
  • Spectrum Noir pens
  • Tag Dies

Method

1.) Run your Sheena stamping card through your embossing machine. I had already cut my card to size because I already knew what I wanted to do with it, however if you want to play it safe, use a bigger piece of card so that you can line it up to the hinge edge of the folder and then cut is to the required size.

2.) Do a blanket ‘wash’ of background colour. I have use Antique linen and applied it using a soft brush, this is just to take away the stark whiteness of the card to give it a more rosy glow.

3) Using your dry wet-wipe, apply circular areas of colour to each of the lights. Remember to dab off the excess before applying to you card; for each one I started on the light itself as this was where the colour needed to be strongest and then moved outwards to where I wanted the lighter glow. The colours I used, were: Candied Apple; Lucky Clover; Pumpkin and Chipped Sapphire. Bear in mind that to keep the colours separate you will need to change which bit of the wet-wipe you are using when you change colour!

4) Ink up the light strings. There are lots of different ways to do this, however I chose to highlight the stings a little with Hickory Smoke distress ink. I have also kept in uneven rather than a flat colour to indicate light and shade. I haven’t done anything extra with the mini-lights although one could use gilding wax or foil to make them shine.

5) Warm up the edges. I have used Honey and Black Soot distress inks just to go around the edges to warm them up and draw attention to the centre of the image.

6) Apply Ranger Glossy Accents to each of the lights which will give them an authentic plasticky texture – leave this to dry!!

This card was inspired by one of Sheena’s design team samples on hochanda when these embossing folders were released

7) Die-cut your twinkling lights die. The colour it, I have used my SN markers as the idea was for the die cut to be a stronger set of colours than the background. I have also then applied the Glossy accents to these lights as well.

SN Colours:  DR2,7; CT1,OR2; GT1,3; JG6,2

8) Stamp and heat emboss your sentiment. I have used gold embossing powder, again for warmth, and then distressed the edges of the tag die-cut and layered it against black.

I have used a black card base which reduced the number of layers needed to create the same effect as a white card layered with black; looking at my picture, the white outline is actually the envelope and not part of the card 😉

9) Stick it all together!

20161022_232344.jpg
Twinkling Lights

I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial, remember, even if you do not have the same items that I have used, the technique can be carried across to a variety of projects!

Leave a Reply

